Skip to primary content

Specialists in Public Hospitals

  • Text Decrease
  • Text Increase

How do I determine the correct salary and classification for my position?

Two classifications exist for specialists, either “Specialist” or “Executive Specialist”. The vast majority of doctors are classified as specialists. Executive Specialist applies to those specialists who are appointed to this position within a hospital.

Within the specialists classification there are nine levels based on years since becoming a specialist.

Prior to 1 February 2011 the specialist range was an eleven year incremental scale. From 1 February 2011 the two bottom levels were removed and the remaining levels renamed as years one to nine. All incumbent public hospital specialists translated over to the corresponding level in the new nine-level classification. For example, a specialist year 8 prior to 1 February 2011 would be translated to specialist year 6 in the new range. This means that you will still be entitled to three automatic higher level annual increments in the coming years until you reach year 9.

All specialists commencing employment at a Victorian public hospital from 1 February 2011 are to be classified according to their years as a specialist. For example, if you were employed as a specialist in NSW and you are in your seventh year since receiving your fellowship you should be employed as a seventh year specialists in Victoria.

In the short term this system may seem unfair to existing employees. However, one aim of the new classification system was to make working in the Victorian public health system more attractive to specialists employed interstate and in private practice.

Reference: AMA Victoria - Victorian Public Health Sector Medical Specialists Enterprise Agreement 2013 Schedule B.

Victorian Medical Directory