Skip to primary content


  • Text Decrease
  • Text Increase

2013 Stawell Prize awarded by AMA Victoria

8 May 2013

AMA Victoria has awarded its annual Stawell Prize for medical research to Dr Lester Pepingco and his colleagues who evaluated the effects of establishing an Acute Surgical Unit (ASU) as a novel model of care, using the Nepean Hospital ASU as a case study.

Dr Lester Pepingco accepted the award on the team’s behalf at AMA Victoria’s Annual General Meeting in Melbourne on Tuesday night. Dr Pipingco’s team included Associate Professor Guy Eslick and Professor Michael Cox.

The prize was awarded for their research into the evaluation of an acute surgical unit as a novel model of care for patients presenting with acute cholecystitis. The team concluded that the introduction of the ASU at Nepean Hospital resulted in significant improvements in care and outcomes for patients with acute cholecystitis. Dr Pepingco also noted during his presentation the potential for using the same model for other kinds of surgery.

AMA Victoria President Dr Stephen Parnis praised the team’s accomplishment. “This research is particularly valuable given the need for innovation in patient care and has already been adopted in other hospitals throughout the Asia-Pacific region.

The annual Stawell Prize is awarded for a piece of research “on a medical subject of clinical significance… which is original, evidence-based and which is likely to advance knowledge, influence clinical practice and improve the health of Australians.

AMA Victoria also ratified its new Board and Council appointments at its AGM on Tuesday night.

“I look forward to working with the new AMA Victoria Board and Council, said Dr Parnis.

AMA Council ratified the following Board appointments:

President: Dr Stephen Parnis
Vice President: Dr Tony Bartone
Treasurer: Dr Robert Conyers
Chair of Council: Dr Roderick McCrae

Dr Lorraine Baker
Dr Robyn Langham
Dr Michael Levick
Dr Leon Massage
Dr Timothy Ross
Dr Gary Speck
Dr Xavier Yu

For further information contact:

Bryce Prosser
Australian Medical Association Victoria
Director, Policy and Public Affairs
Telephone: (03) 9280 8724
Mobile: 0437 450 506

In this section